COVID-19 Guidance and Prevention for Individuals and the Community

Updated September 14, 2020
This page has been automatically translated from English. MSDH has not reviewed this translation and is not responsible for any inaccuracies.

Individuals, communities and organizations are essential to controlling the spread of COVID-19 in Mississippi. The precautions and guidance here can keep you and the state safer and healthier.

Mississippi Coronavirus Hotline (7 days a week, 7 a.m.–7 p.m.): 877-978-6453

Home isolation is mandatory if you have tested positive for COVID-19 by order of the State Health Officer. (If you are awaiting results of routine testing not related to exposure, you may return to work and follow the safety guidance of your employer.) If you have been in contact with someone who has COVID-19, quarantine is also important to protect others.

Face coverings are required by order of the Governor for all Mississippians in schools, businesses and indoor public spaces, and in outdoor public spaces where consistent social distancing is not possible. Details and exceptions »

Preventing COVID-19: Recommendations and Requirements


Businesses and Community

Gatherings and Events

Governor's Executive Orders

Prevention for Individuals

Protect Yourself and Others

Wear a mask in public places

All Mississippi residents should wear non-medical grade masks or homemade cloth face coverings when shopping, running errands, or otherwise away from home. Face covering is especially important when a distance of at least 6 feet cannot easily be maintained between persons. This recommendation does not include manufactured (surgical) or N95 masks, which should be reserved for healthcare workers and first responders.

  • Practice social distancing whenever possible. Keep at least 6 feet apart from others when you are outside your home.
  • Avoid large social gatherings and community events. Follow restrictions on indoor and outdoor gathering sizes. Details »
  • If you are sick, especially with shortness of breath, severe cough, fever or severe chest pain, stay home, call a doctor or healthcare provider for instructions on how to visit them safely.
  • If you have been tested for COVID-19, stay home and away from others until you get your test result. Learn more »
  • If you are 65 or older, or in poor health, stay home as much as possible (see precaution below).

Practice Protective Hygiene

  • Cover your coughs and sneezes. When possible, cough, sneeze or blow your nose into a tissue, then throw the tissue away.
  • Avoid touching your eyes, nose and mouth.
  • Wash your hands frequently and thoroughly, especially after coughing or sneezing, blowing your nose, and using the bathroom. Effective handwashing takes at least 20 seconds, and includes cleaning under fingernails, between fingers, and washing the back of hands as well as the front. More proper handwashing tips »
  • Clean and disinfect surfaces and objects that are touched often.
  • Stay in good overall health by eating right and staying active. If you are living with diabetes, heart disease or other medical condition, keep in touch with your doctor and stay current with your treatment.

Local Testing Providers

Local healthcare providers are now providing sampling and test services at locations across the state for those with COVID-19 symptoms.

Families, Women and Children

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) offer specialized recommendations for:

Older Adults and People at High Risk

People at risk for serious illness from COVID-19 are adults 65 and over, those who are obese, those with a chronic illness such as heart disease, diabetes or lung disease, and anyone receiving treatments which may compromise their immune system. These people should take precautions at all times to limit their exposure to others who may be ill:

  • Stay home as much as possible.
  • Limit your contact with others when you are away from home, especially in indoor settings.
  • Limit your contact with visitors and with other members of your household who are frequently in public places.
  • Keep more space (6 feet if possible) between you and others as you go through the day.
  • If you do go out in public, keep away from others who are sick, and practice consistent social distancing. Pay closer attention to hygiene and cleanliness.
  • Wash your hands often, especially after being in public places.

Prevention in the Community

Schools, businesses, events and other places that people gather should take steps to prevent or limit the spread of viral illness.

Social Gatherings and Events

Everyone attending events and gatherings, including weddings and funerals, should take extra precautions at this time, including:

  • Indoor gatherings and activities are limited to 10 people when at least six feet between individuals not of the same household cannot be maintained. When social distancing of at least six feet can be consistently maintained, indoor gatherings of up to 20 people are permitted.
  • Outdoor gatherings and activities are limited to 50 people when at least six feet between individuals not of the same household cannot be maintained. When social distancing of at least six feet can be consistently maintained, outdoor gatherings of up to 100 people are permitted.
  • Limits on gathering sizes do not apply to students in classrooms, voting precincts and religious entities.
  • Arena attendance is limited to 25% or less of full capacity.
  • School events for kindergarten through grade 12 have special face covering and social distance requirements. More details »
  • In addition to social distancing, wearing a mask or face covering in public places is strongly recommended by the State Health Officer.
  • Wash hands frequently and thoroughly with soap and water, or use hand sanitizer if soap and water are not available. Look for sanitizers with at least 60 percent alcohol. Warning: Avoid hand sanitizers containing methanol »
  • If ill, do not attend any public event and call your physician or healthcare provider if needed.

State Agencies

Businesses and Workplaces

Workplaces should be mindful of providing strong hygiene support and facilitating social distancing for the safety of their employees and patrons. Employees who are sick should stay at home, and employees should be checked daily for COVID-19 symptoms.

  • All retail businesses, gyms, restaurants and bars must limit the number of customers to no greater than 75% capacity.
  • Employees must wear masks or face coverings when in contact with the public.
  • Businesses should take every measure to ensure social distancing and proper hand hygiene for customers.

Restaurants and bars

  • Bars may sell alcohol only to seated customers. Bar hours are restricted to 7 a.m. to 11 p.m.
  • All restaurants and bars must limit the number of customers to no greater than 75% capacity.
  • All parties or groups must be separated by a minimum of 6 feet.
  • All employees must be screened for symptoms of COVID-19 daily.
  • All employees must wear a face covering when serving the public.

Report a restaurant that is not following COVID-19 safety orders: E-mail the details to food@msdh.ms.gov

Long-Term Care Facilities

Visitation to nursing homes and other long-term care facilities is now highly restricted in order to protect residents.

  • Discontinue group social activities and group visits to help prevent possible disease transmission.
  • Post signs that discourage all nonessential visitation and discourage ill visitors from entering the facility.
  • Keep all ill visitors away from the facility for at least 48 hours after symptoms resolve.
  • Only allow visitors for residents receiving end-of-life care or to provide critical assistance.
  • Facilities may permit other visitation if they observe conditions that their supervising health professional considers safe. Electronic visits are to be encouraged.
  • Permitted visitors should only visit their family members and should not have contact with other residents.
  • Permitted visitors should cover their coughs and be educated on the importance of hand hygiene.
  • Make sure the facility has plenty of hand washing products and that essential visitors have access to them.

Schools, Colleges and Universities

The Mississippi State Department of Health has created guidelines to assist school administrators in re-opening decisions during COVID-19 and in addressing cases, exposure and quarantine..

School Events

Organized extracurricular school events (including sports events, music and theater performances and others) for kindergarten through grade 12 are subject to these restrictions:

  • Attendance at all extracurricular events is limited to 25% of the venue's seating capacity (excluding school personnel, medical personnel and media) as long as space is available to ensure social distancing of at least six feet between persons not in the same household.
  • Face coverings must be worn at all times when attending indoor events.
  • Face coverings are required at all times when attending outdoor events unless six feet of distance or more can be maintained between others who are not in your household.
  • Indoors or outdoors, strive to maintain a distance of six feet or more from those not in your household.
  • Face coverings are still strongly recommended at outdoor events even while social distancing.

Youth Sports

  • All participants must be screened for symptoms of COVID-19
  • 100 person maximum per field, including fans
  • Limit of 2 fans per player
  • Fans outside of family group must maintain 6 feet of separation
  • Bleachers shall be closed to fans

Child Care Facilities

The Mississippi State Department of Health has not recommended closing child care facilities at this time.

Child care faculties choosing to remain open should be mindful of hygiene and disinfection practices specific to schools and daycares:

Church and Worship Services

Like any gathering, church services have the potential to spread COVID-19 infection if they are not resumed with suitable precautions. Guidelines have now been issued to help churches offer in-person services while minimizing the risk of disease transmission.

Funeral Homes and Mortuaries

MSDH has specific guidance for services of this type.

Other Community Guidance

The CDC offers prevention, response and re-opening guidance for:

The CDC has guidance for cleaning rooms and buildings visited by those who have a suspected or confirmed case of COVID-19.

Information for Travelers

Travel can increase your risk of getting and spreading COVID-19. You should postpone travel if you are sick, or have been in contact with a person infected with COVID-19 in the last 14 days.

When you return from travel, you pose a risk of infection to others for 14 days, even if you do not feel sick. During this time, practice social distancing indoors and outdoors, and wear a mask when you're away from home.

You may be contacted by the Mississippi State Department of Health if you have returned from traveling to an area with restrictions on entry to the US, traveled on a cruise, or traveled on a flight or ship with a confirmed COVID-19 case. We'll provide instructions on protective steps to take, including isolation at home.

General Information

COVID-19 is a new respiratory virus that causes flu-like illness ranging from mild to severe, with symptoms of fever, coughing, fatigue and difficulty breathing. Like the flu, COVID-19 spreads person-to-person by close contact (within 6 feet) and by coughing or sneezing. COVID-19 may also spread by touching surfaces contaminated by the virus.

Subscribe to our free newsletter and health alerts: 
Last reviewed on Mar 20, 2020
Mississippi State Department of Health 570 East Woodrow Wilson Dr Jackson, MS 39216 866-HLTHY4U Contact and information

Facebook Twitter Instagram RSS

Accredited by the national Public Health Accreditation Board