A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z [CLOSE]

Vital Records

Birth and death certificates, marriage records and information

The Vital Records office is located in the Underwood Building, 571 Stadium Drive, just off North State Street near Woodrow Wilson Avenue in Jackson, Mississippi. The Office is open Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. Public counter closes at 4:30 p.m.

Visit our Vital Statistics page for statistical reports on births and deaths in Mississippi.

Birth Certificates

Ordering Birth Certificates

  • Order by mail. Mail the form below with a check or money order to us.
    Birth Certificate application form »

  • Order on-line or by phone from a private vital records service, using a credit card.
    Order on-line or by phone »

  • Come in person to our Jackson Office at 571 Stadium Drive between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. and pay by cash, check or money order. In some cases you will receive your record at the time of payment. Otherwise, orders will be processed in 7 to 10
    business days
    Map & information »

Birth Certificates Outside of Mississippi

  • If you are a US Citizen born outside Mississippi, check with the National Center for Health Statistics for information regarding your home state.
    NCHS Vital Records page »

  • If you were born in another country, check with the Embassy for that country.

Death Certificates

Marriage Records

  • Order by mail: mail the form below with a check or money order to us. (Marriage records are available for January 1, 1926 to June 30, 1938, and for January 1, 1942 to present.)
    Marriage record application form »

  • Order on-line or by phone from a private vital records service, using a credit card.
    Order on-line or by phone »

  • Come in person to our Jackson Office at 571 Stadium Drive between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. and pay by cash, check, or money order. The record will be mailed within 7 - 10 business days of ordering.

Note: Though required by law, all marriage records are not on file with the Office of Vital Records.

Divorce Records

Vital Records does not maintain divorce records. A five-year search of the divorce indexes is available for January 1, 1926 to June 30, 1938, and for January 1, 1942 to present for a fee of $15. A five-year search is available to locate the county where the divorce was granted, the book, and the page number in the Chancery Clerk's office where it was recorded. The Chancery Clerk's office will need to be contacted directly in order to obtain a certified copy of the divorce decree.

Note: Though required by law, all divorce records are not on file with the Office of Vital Records.

Modifications

To make corrections or to make changes to a birth or death record, contact our Corrections Department at 601-576-7981.

Contact

For more information or questions about vital records, contact our Vital Records office at   (601) 576-7981, or visit the Vital Records Department home page for health statistics, vital records, reports and data.

You can also contact the Vital Records office by sending e-mail to VRInfo@msdh.state.ms.us

This page last reviewed on Mar 19, 2013 report errors on this page e-mail email this page print print 

Related resources

More topics

Mississippi State Department of Health 570 East Woodrow Wilson Dr Jackson, MS 39216 866-HLTHY4U web@HealthyMS.com Facebook Twitter RSS