A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z [CLOSE]

Ground Ambulance Service Licensing

 
This page has been automatically translated from English. MSDH has not reviewed this translation and is not responsible for any inaccuracies.

Licensing for Ground Ambulance

A provider of ambulance service can be licensed by the Bureau of Emergency Medical Services (BEMS) as a licensed EMS agency by requesting and signing a completed application for service license. An inspection of premises must be made.

If it is determined that the applicant meets all requirements, BEMS will grant a license at the time of inspection. The license is valid for one (1) year from date of issuance. Any change of service ownership constitutes issuance of a new license and permit(s).

Applicants must provide a roster of all employees including Medical First Responders, EMTs, Paramedics, Critical Care Paramedics, EMS-Drivers, Dispatchers, RNs, and others if appropriate. This list must include state-issued certification and/or license numbers where applicable.

Applicant must submit one copy of the plan of medical control at least 30 days prior to service start date.

Revisions in the medical control plan must be submitted prior to implementation. At a minimum, medical control plans shall be resubmitted to BEMS every three (3) years.

Applicant must provide a letter signed by the off-line medical director stating he/she approves the EMS agency’s Medical Control Plan, including protocols and understands his/her responsibilities as stated in Appendix 1 of the Mississippi EMS Law, Rules and Regulations.

Applicant must provide evidence of 24-hour continuous service capabilities including back-up. Applicant should also include staffing pattern and affiliations with non-transporting ALS services where applicable.

Applicant must provide a description of its communications capabilities. At a minimum, the system must be capable of communicating with the primary resource hospital throughout its immediate area of response.

911 is the universal emergency phone number for public access of Emergency Medical Services in the State. Ambulance service providers shall only advertise 911 as their emergency number.

If there are any questions, please contact Dale Holdiness at 601-576-7381.

Last reviewed on Feb 28, 2018
Mississippi State Department of Health 570 East Woodrow Wilson Dr Jackson, MS 39216 866-HLTHY4U web@HealthyMS.com
Facebook Twitter Instagram RSS